Posted in Writer's Life

Marketing? Yes, Please!

Last week, I took my Writer’s hat off. I miss it. It was colorful and funny and thoughtful. This week, I’ve started wearing my Marketing Businesswoman hat. It’s ugly and it’s confusing. I can’t tell the front from the back. It’s weird and it makes my head itch.

feather-flower-wide-brim-kentucky-derby-hat-13
Berkeley Hat Co. Image courtesy of Google.
furry hat
My Ugly Marketing Hat. Image courtesy of Google.

Such is the life of a self-publishing author. I’ve come to the point where the work I put in now will determine if my book sells. Being an indie author means that the writing part was merely half the work. After the writing, comes the marketing part.

I’ve started working on creating my Facebook Author Page by studying what one puts on said page. My daughter-in-law, Kiley, has a great baking page, and my friend, Caleb, has a very active hunting process page, as well.  I’ve read a lot of information and looked at other author pages and it’s all kind of overwhelming. So far, I’ve deleted mine twice.

Along with that, I’m studying a variety of self-publishing services, including Amazon and Kindle, and what they require for manuscripts to become real live books. I have ten pages of hand-written notes and still feel directionless. Maybe I’m making this too hard, I don’t know.

sekf publish box
Image courtesy of Google.

I’m crash coursing Business 101, that’s for sure!

I need advice, people! Tell me what you look for on Facebook Pages. Also, what do you need to see and/or know about a book you might be interested in?

If you’re in the biz, tell me one MUST KNOW for marketing.

In the next couple of weeks, I will be launching my Facebook Author Page. I will tag you, personally, if I use your idea in my roll out.

I’m waiting to hear from you.f.y.i

Until next time,

Be Good to Yourself.

~Nadine

One thought on “Marketing? Yes, Please!

Leave a comment